Mockingbird Sings

We have a Northern Mockingbird who frequents the wire outside our house near the willow tree. This bird is very noisy, especially in the morning, but it doesn’t make me angry. Its repertoire of trills, tweets and chirps always makes me laugh; what an incredible range of sounds from one bird. Mockingbirds are appropriately named. If you didn’t know any better you’d think you had a half-dozen different types of birds in your backyard. This mockingbird can even imitate a bluejay (listen at :019 in the video).

6 responses to “Mockingbird Sings

  1. That is so funny … the Jay mocking. And then, Steller’s Jays, in turn, have learned to imitate Red-tailed Hawks. It used to confuse me out on the trails until I learned to associate these mystery hawk calls with the terrain familiar to Steller’s. Love the video and the post. Mockingbirds are amazing birds, and great parents, aren’t they?

  2. I think we have a mockingbird here too I just don’t know who is who. I have to look for more photos to recognize them. ^_^

    SWF

  3. Bird songs can get pretty loud, but I never tire of waking to them 🙂 I don’t think I have ever seen a mockingbird.

  4. Pingback: Reader Approved Outdoor Blog Posts

  5. Many thanks to the blogger who recommended “Mockingbird Sings” as a Reader Approved Outdoor Blogger Post! Here’s the link to all the recommended posts: http://www.outdoorbloggernetwork.com/blog/2012/05/21/reader-approved-outdoor-blog-posts-7/

Leave a Reply

