Nature OVER the Burbs

Lovely clouds

Chicago from above

Winding river (I think it was the Missouri)

Rocky Mountains

The sky in Seattle

Last week I went on a business trip that had me flying across the USA from sea to shining sea. While most of the passengers on the airplane worked on computers, watched movies, read books, listened to music, or chatted with their seatmates, I happily passed time staring out the window, taking photos. My in-flight movie was the blue sky, endless clouds, and the changing terrain of the states we flew over.

Because of good flying weather, I was able to get a bird’s-eye view of the beauty and natural diversity of this country. Unfortunately, I was also able to see firsthand some of the devastating effects of the Midwestern drought. Here are a few photos from OVER the burbs.

I’m linking this post to Skywatch Friday.

22 responses to “Nature OVER the Burbs

  1. These are really cool!

  2. Hubby and I fight over the window seat, we love the view of our world from on high.

  3. Nice take on the trip.

  4. Beautiful photographs! Happy sky watching.

    Skywatch

  5. Very nice set of pictures – window seats are a real bonus.

    The “wrong” post before also contains much that that is right!

    Cheers – Stewart M – Australia

  6. Great series of shots! What better way to see the sky than to be in it! 🙂

  7. Wonderful shots from the plane. It is great to have clear weather during your flight. Happy Skywatching!

  8. Photos from plane journies is great fun, so many sights to see and appreciate from different angles, thanks for sharing with SWF

  9. You did a great job of getting photos from the plane. I’ve never had much success when I’ve tried.

  10. Beautiful photographs, such views are giving much joy. I am greeting

  11. You really did travel from sea to sea! Getting pictures through those tiny plane windows – that are usually filthy – is tough. You done good!! 🙂

  12. I’m not a good flyer, but I so enjoy seeing the earth from a different vantage point..love your shots!

  13. I wish I didn’t mind being boxed in on planes. I always choose the aisle. 🙂

  14. I am always delighted to know I’m not the only person who takes pix of the sky from planes! Just lovely. I hope I get a window seat this fall when we fly back to Florida from Oregon! (I hopped over from SW Friday — happy to find you!)

Leave a Reply

